Addicted to THRIFT-tail

Why thrifting?The answer is simple, saving money is in my blood. Don’t get it twisted, I have splurged on things in my lifetime and have spent a pretty coin on certain things. BUT sometimes, I just can’t wrap my head around spending tons of money on items that I can actually get a good deal on. Not only do I purchase from these stores, I also do plenty of donating.

download (2)

A bit of history: my mother LOVES to save money and is the queen of DIY. My father also likes to save money in certain areas as well. I also have various family members who enjoy garage sales, yard sales, Estate sales and that as well was witnessed as a child and even now as an adult. More specifically though, if my memory serves me correctly, my addiction for thrifting started off in college (with the help of two of my Bennett little sisters & also volunteering at Habitat for Humanity & Goodwill). My little fashionistas use to have some of the most unique clothing, accessories, etc. My famous line was “girl where did you get that?” Once thrift store came out of their mouths and I began doing my own research, I was sold! Volunteering at these stores allowed me learn the ins and outs and taught me to be humble and grateful. So during that time it was a huge benefit and a blessing because I was a college student on a budget honey!

Once my shopping excursions began, I started off small.  Purchasing vintage jewelry, purses and belts. Then once I graduated and moved into my own place I began to venture out more and my horizons expanded. From the clothing (mainly blazers, blouses, vests, dress pants, dress skirts, track jackets), head scarves, to select kitchen appliances and certain furniture that I could possibly re-purpose.

Fast forward to today,  I am still an avid thrift store shopper for many reasons. Now that I have a child, I have to continue to think smarter and budget as much as possible, no matter how much money I have. So all in all, this hobby that I picked up in school worked out for me as a parent today. I find things for my child as well, such as: certain toys, games, books and certain clothes (jackets, sweaters, tops and even play clothes).

I have always aimed to be as unique as possible, in all aspects of life, including my style. My love for 90s music and the era in general has been reflected in my fashion sense. Vintage inspiration, vibrant colors and prints is really all I look for when it comes to clothes. The thrift store provides a certain unique individuality that I strive for. I guarantee you that I can go to the thrift store and find a a unique item or clothing piece that will not be found anywhere else. I do not care for “trends” because I do not like to look like everyone else. Honestly, I am going to always go down my own path. Some may not agree with this form of shopping because either they grew up getting “second hand clothing” and they don’t want to go that route as an adult or because they think thrift stores are dirty and too cheap, and the list continues. For me, I find treasures. I get EXCITED when I see certain prints, colors, designers, brands, etc. It’s has become a therapeutic mechanism for me. I can utilize my creativity, while also saving money, most importantly.

One thing about me is that I will NEVER be ashamed because it works in my household. I could care less about what others may think about it. “You just do you and I’mma do me”. PERIOD. I have also shared many tips and advice with my family members and friends and it has allowed them to view thrifting from another perspective that can fit their needs and wants. A lot of times, I will go to the thrift store first, before I go to other stores for certain items.

Some of my best purchases:

  • Louis Vuitton handbag, 100% authentic!!! – paid $20 and sold it for a GREAT price.
  • Cast iron skillets
  • Name brand/ designer clothing
  • Blouses, work attire, jackets, sweaters
  • Books
  • George Foreman grill
  • Mirrors
  • Paintings

My “go-to” thrift stores (past & present):

  1. Value Village/Savers/Unique Thrift- present (Various parts of Maryland)
  2. Salvation Army-present (Various parts of Maryland)
  3. 2nd Ave- present (Laurel, Maryland)
  4. Plato’s Closet- past (not a thrift store but a “gently used clothing” store)
  5. Georgia Ave Thrift Store-past and present (Washington, DC)
  6. Goodwill-past and present

What I DON’T buy from the thrift store:

  • Undergarments, socks, etc
  • Blankets, pillows, sheets or towels
  • Mattresses
  • Rusted pots and pans
  • Utensils
  • Upholstered furniture
  • Shoes (I break the rule sometimes if the shoe is brand-new)
  • Dusty or dirty/stained items
  • Stuffed Animals
  • Makeup
  • Medicine
  • Food

Some Quick Thrifting Facts & Tips::

  • Be aware, some items may come out to be more expensive in the thrift store (yes that is possible) So, you would be better off buy it brand new
  • Remember, you can also buy brand new items as well, not all things are “second hand” or “gently used”
  • Find out which stores are the best in your area and even in other neighborhoods/cities/towns other than your own. Nice area=Nice store..but of course there are exceptions to that rule
  • Some things last longer because of the fact that it has already been used/worn
  • Always, always, always wash/clean item before you wear or utilize (with bleach if possible)
  • Shop for clothing as the seasons change (ex: shop for winter coats in the summer) or just seasonal changes period. People donate things once the holiday season ends so they can make room for the new things. People donate during certain times such as the spring (spring cleaning). So on an so forth
  • If an appliance, check if it works before you buy (the store will allow you to plug the item in)
  • Check for sale days
  • You CAN find great quality items
  • Be creative and open-minded
  • Inspect items to ensure there are no unwanted rips, holes, snags, mishaps, stains or odors (even though they check prior to putting the items out on the floor)
  • Put about 2 hours to the side of it’s your first time Thrifting and you just want to explore
  • Have a plan,  (what are you looking for?) go straight to that aisle (if you don’t want to be in there all day) most things are organized by type of clothing (ex: shorts, dresses, sleeveless tops, long sleeves, coats, etc etc etc
  • Have fun and be YOU

*A great website to peruse is: thethriftstoreshopper.com !! There, you can put in your zip code and it will direct you to a list of some (not all) thrift stores in your area. It will show you the sales, how to donate, possible online shopping, etc. 

 

Just a FEW of my latest purchases

Leave a comment