New Journeys

the-journey-of-one-thousand-miles-begins-with-one-step-toula-mavridou-messer

I have had this strong urge to make some changes in my life & after doing my RESEARCH and some deep down soul searching, I am excited to announce that I will be making two lifestyle changes in August. Becoming a Pescetarian and a Minimalist!! To make the transition less strenuous all at once, by nature, I have actually began to prepare my mind and body for these new changes. Donating things that I don’t use or need such as: clothing, shoes, kitchen supplies, misc household items, body detoxing/cleansing, giving food away or cooking it (once it’s gone, it’s gone) getting rid of cable, minimizing my phone bill, etc.

Pescetarianism: A person whose diet is mostly vegetarian but includes fish and seafood.Pescetarians do eat dairy products, such as milk and cheese, in
addition to vegetables, nuts, and fruits.

Minimalism: “What Minimalism is really all about is the reassessment of your priorities so that you can strip away the excess stuff — the possessions, ideas, relationships and activities — that don’t bring value to your life.” – Colin Wright

Both of these lifestyle changes are all about perspective and fitting them in your life the best way you see fit. They both have their own unique values and each person who embraces either lifestyles, reaps different benefits. There isn’t just one way! Which is why I love the ideas. My personality fits perfectly with these lifestyles and it will shine even more through each component. I’m so glad this light bulb went off in my brain.

Why Pescetarianism? On top of seafood being my absolute FAVORITE, I made a personal choice to just be more healthier. It’s been over a year since I gave up pork 100%, then I followed with reducing my red meat intake. The phasing out process works for most people, but going “cold turkey” works well for me. I want more energy, less bloating, more vegetable intake with each meal, etc.  Eating less bread and pasta (my second faves)- and finding healthier alternatives. This is not a diet to me but more like a lifestyle.

Why Minimalism? We place such enormous value on material things, which in a sense brings us empty joy. Think about it, we yearn for these “things” and we forget about yearning for ourselves!! No more impulsive purchases, buying things and forgetting about it, etc. I will still get things that are obviously needed and even desired…but there is a bigger picture here. If you know me, you know that I love trying new things while still finding ways to save a coin! You also would know that I don’t require much but positive vibes and energy, new experiences, quality time, laughing, eating & having an overall good time. With a minimalist lifestyle I will put more energy into making sure that these experiences are completed and living in the moment. It’s all about priorities. Simple.

With these two changes, it will simultaneously increase my efforts in the following areas: consistency, more self-accountability, uniqueness, self-discipline, more productivity, focusing on the essentials, valuing relationships & not things, and creativity & thinking outside of the box..amongst others. We can’t live our lives through what/how others think about us. We must find our own journey and experience our unique selves from what we see in the mirror. Challenging myself more is important to me and I aim to continue to live my life on my own unique path. Leaving little to no focus on the “right” or “wrong” ways of living life. Living how life works for ME and MINE. Travelling alone, reading more, taking random scenic walks, less screen time (electronic devices), taking more road trips and flights to different places with my daughter, living & enjoying life with no explanation or limitations.

Important Note: I have chosen to not FORCE this lifestyle onto my daughter but I will indeed incorporate these new habits into her toddler life. It’s all about finding alternatives/substitutes that promote healthy living; physically & mentally.

Leave a comment